Experience our history!
Constructed in 1902 by Pittsburgh-based steel magnate and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie for $45,000, what is now the Port Huron Museum’s Main Museum was originally the Port Huron Public Library. After the City Library merged with the St. Clair County Library, the building was slated for demolition. Through the dedicated efforts of concerned volunteers, the Museum of Arts & History opened its doors on May 3, 1968.
The Port Huron Museum is home to over 45,000 objects and archival items relating to the history, pre-history and culture of the Blue Water Area. While all of our sites have items from the Port Huron Museum’s collection, the majority of our object, document, and photograph collections are housed at the Main Museum.
The Port Huron Museum is proud to display the largest ship model collection throughout Michigan in our newly redesigned Marine Gateway.
A 6,000+ square feet gallery space houses rotating exhibits.